(my official blog is still in the design workshop, but it’s very close to being done! Until them, pardon my in between blog page)

5 Halloween Costume I Want To Do but Nobody Would Get

  • Charlotte from Lost in Translation
      • If I was in a setting where I wouldn’t get harassed I would definitely rock Scarlett Johansson’s opening attire from Sofia Coppola’s indie film. All I would need is a t-shirt and a pair of see-through pink underwear. Another option would be to wear her hot pink bob wig from the karaoke scene, but I think too many people would confuse me with stripper Natalie Portman in ‘Closer’. Thankfully the internet gives me the opportunity to buy the same kind of underwear ScarJo was sporting: http://www.araks.com/products/sonja-panty Chances of anyone knowing who I was, even at a convention? 0/10 at a Halloween Party, 0/10 at a convention

  • Amelie Poulain from Amelie
      • I love, love, lover Audrey Tautou’s hair in this movie, almost as much as I love this French movie itself. If I was ever brave enough to cut my hair short again, I would do it in this style. To capture Amelie’s whimsy, I would put on a red dress, a beret, carry around a spoon or a garden gnome or a polka dot umbrella and go around doing good deeds for people. Chances of anyone knowing who I was, even at a convention? 0/10 at a Halloween Party, 1/10 at a convention

  • Roxanne from A Goofy Movie
      • There are girls on the internet that have really pulled off a Roxanne costume and look adorable doing it. A Goofy Movie was a huge staple in my house growing up, a movie my siblings and I watched over and over. I would love to find a teal shirt, short jean shorts, a red wavy wig and draw on a little puppy nose. But this is pretty obscure, I don’t know anyone would get it. Chances of anyone knowing who I was, even at a convention? 0/10 at a Halloween Party, 2/10 at a convention

  • Chuck from Pushing Daisies
      • I would wear a gorgeous 50s flower print dress and carry around a honey jar or a wooden box with the ‘Pie Hole’ logo on it. It’s probably too obscure for a normal party, but if I dressed my boyfriend up in Ned’s clothes maybe somebody would get the reference. Chances of anyone knowing who I was, even at a convention? 0/10 at a Halloween Party, 7/10 at a convention

  • Lyra Silvertounge from Golden His Dark Materials
    • These are my favorite books and I always dreamed of getting to play Lyra in the movie adaptation when I was younger, despite not being blonde. However, I can now fix that by wearing a tawny, wavy wig.  I would dress up as Lyra’s Cittàgazze outfit in the green tank top and wool skirt, complete with boots and her leather pouch for her Alethiometer. I would try to carry around my cat Pan, since Lyra’s Pan is her namesake, but my cat would never go for it. So I’d carry around a mouse or snow-white ermine stuffed animal instead. Chances of anyone knowing who I was, even at a convention? 0/10

Would you recognize any of these at a Halloween party? What are you going as for Halloween for this year?

